Our Story

The pioneer passion and determination still flow in our veins

Domaine Labranche starts with the story of the Desgroseilliers family, fueled by the daily passion and fun as eight generations worked the land of Quebec’s Roussillon region.

The family members have the true character of their proud ancestor Médard Chouart des Groseilliers, an adventurer with legendary bravery, a trapper and reckless traveler. He led the first ship that reached Hudson Bay by the northern sea routes. Back from this successful mission in 1670, he was instrumental in creating the Hudson Bay Company.

After the British conquest in 1772, Joseph Prosper, great-grandson of Médard, moved his family close to St. Isidore where now, much like the first settlers, he devoted himself passionately to agriculture.

Pleasures to share

Over the generations, the Desgroseilliers family diversified its agricultural activities to share the fruits of their labour with the general public. In the 1920s, in every spring, Willie tapped maple trees located on his land to produce maple syrup for his family and some grocery stores in Montreal. The maple business became so big that Willie built a small shack in the middle of the sugar bush, a friendly gathering place in which to receive family and friends. This is the spirit that still persists today, at the Labranche sugar shack.

But why stop there? From the branch whence the sap flows in the spring, there are vines and apples that bear their fruit in the fall.

From the spirit of the most recent generation born in 2009, the Domaine Labranche now includes the maple sugar business, a cider mill and winery, where liquor is now produced from the fertile lands of St. Isidore, where you’ll find unique products that highlight the uniqueness of Quebec lands.
True to their origins, the Desgroseilliers family deepen their skills, working in harmony with nature, and continue on their quest to introduce and offer high-quality innovative products.

CULTIVATING NATURE
Sugar shack / Apple orchard / Winery

Notre histoire

La passion et la détermination du pionnier coulent toujours dans nos veines

Le Domaine Labranche, c’est d’abord l’histoire de la famille Desgroseilliers, animée par la passion et le plaisir du quotidien qui depuis huit générations travaille la terre de la région de Roussillon au Québec.

Les membres de la famille tiennent leur ferveur de leur fier ancêtre Médard Chouart des Groseilliers, aventurier à la bravoure légendaire, coureur des bois et voyageur téméraire. Il mena le premier navire à atteindre la Baie d’Hudson par les voies maritimes nordiques. Au retour de cette fructueuse mission, en 1670, il participe à la création de la Compagnie de la Baie d’Hudson.

Après la conquête britannique en 1772, Joseph Prosper, arrière-petit-fils de Médard, installe sa famille tout près de Saint-Isidore où désormais, à l’instar des premiers colons, il se consacre avec ardeur à l’agriculture.

Des plaisirs à partager.

Au fil des générations, la famille Desgroseilliers diversifie ses activités agricoles afin de partager avec le public le fruit de leur labeur. Dans les années 1920, Willie entaille tous les printemps les érables situés sur sa terre pour produire du sirop d’érable destiné à sa famille et quelques épiceries de Montréal. L’ampleur de l’activité acéricole devient telle que Willie construit une petite cabane au centre de l’érablière – lieu de rassemblement convivial où il fait bon recevoir famille et amis. L’esprit qui anime toujours aujourd’hui la cabane à sucre Labranche.

Mais pourquoi donc en rester là? De la branche d’où s’écoule la sève au printemps, à la vigne et au pommier qui nous livrent leurs fruits à l’automne, il n’y a qu’un pas.

De la fougue de la dernière génération, naît, en 2009, le Domaine Labranche qui comprend l’érablière, la cidrerie et le vignoble et qui élabore des boissons alcoolisées issues des terres fertiles de Saint-Isidore. Il en résulte des produits uniques mettant en relief l’unicité du terroir québécois.

Fidèles à leurs origines, les membres de la famille Desgroseilliers continuent leur aventure pour vous présenter des produits innovateurs et de grande qualité tout en approfondissant leur savoir-faire et en travaillant en totale harmonie avec la nature.

 

Agrotourisme: des gens de passion!